Espejismos / mirage | Torrents Collective

Participants

Espejismos / mirage is an installation project that fuses interactive technology, visual arts, poetry, storytelling, music and sound art. The project explores the concepts of memory and heritage, themes regularly addressed by the collective, both together and in their individual projects.

Considering that our identity goes beyond the individual and is shaped, among other things, by political events that impacted previous generations, as well as by global power dynamics, our family and cultural environments, we question what we would be, where we would be in other circumstances. Without colonization, armed conflicts, socio-political upheavals in the country of our ancestors, what would our reality be? Through creation, we propose to make “real” memories and speculative/invented memories coexist in order to imagine possible versions of our memories. We will bring these visions to life through poetry, video, visuals, sound art, music and storytelling. These convergent memories will be created from our desires, our family heirlooms, personal or public archival documents, or historical speculations. The process is similar to the notion of uchrony, exploring alternative histories.

This creation will allow us, on the one hand, to explore the fragility and subjectivity of memory, and on the other hand, to offer us the freedom to cross space and time, thus exploring various versions of ourselves . These versions will be juxtaposed with memories from our current journeys.

Espejismos / mirage | Collectif Torrents

Participant·e·s

Espejismos / mirage est un projet d’installation qui fusionne la technologie interactive, les arts visuels, la poésie, la narration, la musique et l’art sonore. Le projet explore les concepts de souvenir et d’héritage, des thèmes régulièrement abordés par le collectif, tant ensemble que dans leurs projets individuels.

En considérant que notre identité dépasse l’individu et est façonnée, entre autres, par des événements politiques ayant impacté les générations antérieures, ainsi que par les dynamiques de pouvoir mondiales, nos environnements familiaux et culturels, nous nous interrogeons sur ce que nous serions, où nous serions dans d’autres circonstances. Sans la colonisation, les conflits armés, les bouleversements socio-politiques dans le pays de nos ancêtres, quelle serait notre réalité? À travers la création, nous proposons de faire coexister des souvenirs « réels » et des souvenirs spéculatifs/inventés afin d’imaginer des versions possibles de nos mémoires. Nous matérialiserons ces visions à travers la poésie, la vidéo, les visuels, l’art sonore, la musique et les narrations. Ces souvenirs convergents seront créés à partir de nos désirs, de nos héritages familiaux, de documents d’archives personnels ou publics, ou de spéculations historiques. Le processus s’apparente à la notion d’uchronie, explorant des histoires alternatives.

Cette création nous permettra, d’une part, d’explorer la fragilité et la subjectivité de la mémoire, et d’autre part, de nous offrir la liberté de traverser l’espace et le temps, explorant ainsi diverses versions de nous-mêmes. Ces versions seront juxtaposées à des souvenirs issus de nos parcours actuels.